eng | рус

AM General

AM General

Образованная в процессе централизации американского военно-промышленного комплекса корпорация AM General являлась головным изготовителем широкой гаммы стандартизованных автотранспортных средств для вооруженных сил США и многих стран мира. Своим родоначальником она считает фирму Overland, ставшую в начале ХХ века основой компании WillysOverland. После войны она вошла в группу Kaiser Jeep, которая в 1964 г. на заводе Studebaker в Саут Бенде наладила выпуск армейских грузовиков 2,5- и 5-тонного классов, ранее изготовлявшихся разными фирмами США. В 1967 г. там было образовано Отделение военной техники и выполнения государственных заказов (Defense & Government Products Division).

Зимой 1970 г., когда фирму Kaiser Jeep выкупила корпорация American Motors Corporation, оно превратилось в Отделение продукции общего назначения (General Products Division), а 1 апреля 1971 г. получило статус компании AM General. Аббревиатура AM указывала официального владельца — концерн American Motors, хотя с первых же дней существования AM General, выполнявший в основном государственные военные заказы, фактически являлся самостоятельной компанией. Так в распоряжении AM General оказалась практически вся гамма стандартизованной военной автотехники. В 1985 г. AM General приступил к серийному производству своего самого известного автомобиля Hummer. С конца 90-х гг. главной заботой компании является серийное производство "хаммеров", а также реконструкция ранее выпущенных грузовиков.

Бурная деятельность компании AM General , превратившейся в 80-е гг. в американского монополиста в области военной автотехники, всегда привлекала внимание крупных корпораций. 20 сентября 1983 г. фирму AM General выкупила аэрокосмическая компания LTV, а после ее банкротства с апреля 1992 г. AM General входит в состав сталелитейной группы Renco Group. В 90-е гг. компания AM General получила статус корпорации (AM General Corporation, AMG). Аббревиатура АМ теперь имеет обезличенное значение: в ней зашифровано слово Automotive (автомобильный), поэтому ее полное наименование сейчас можно перевести двояко — "Автомобильная корпорация продукции общего назначения" или "Генеральная автомобильная корпорация".

Список моделей:

Array ( [3] => Военные модели [5] => Концептуальные модели )

Военные модели

Концептуальные модели

Ссылки по теме:

Книги по теме:

Сервисы

Поиск по каталогу

Марка:

Страна:

Тип:
 

Неизвестные модели:


Знаете модель? Все »

Последние комментарии:

Ashok Leyland » ALRD 20

I want to buy Ashok Leyland Alrd-20

AEC » Militant MkI ( модель O859 / O860 )

The Coles crane in pic 24 is of great interest,I drove one of these Mk.4s in Germany back in 1970-71,it was nt in this colour scheme though!.Is this crane still around?.rnAlan

Ashok Leyland » Stallion MkIII / MkIV

I want sensor diagram and function about sensor bs111 military vehicles

Ashok Leyland » Stallion MkIII / MkIV

Please send me tecnical data als mk-4abs

eng | рус

AM General

AM General

Having been founded during the centralization process of the American military-industrial complex, the corporation AM General was the head manufacturer of a wide standardized vehicles range for the U.S. armed forces and many world countries. It considers the firm Overland to be its ancestor, which became the base of the company WillysOverland at the beginning of the XX century. After the war it joined the Kaiser Jeep group, which in 1964 at the plant Studebaker in South Bend arranged the army truck production of the 2.5- and 5-ton classes, made earlier by different USA firms. In 1967 there was formed Defense and Government Products Division.

In winter 1970, when the firm Kaiser Jeep was acquired by American Motors Corporation, it turned into General Products Division, and since April 1971 it got the status of the company AM General. The abbreviation AM specified the formal owner – the concern American Motors-, though AM General, fulfilling mainly state defense orders, was in fact a separate corporate entity. Thus practically all the range of standardized military vehicles turned out to be at the disposal of AM General. In 1985 AM General started mass production of its most famous automobile Hummer. Since the end of 90-ies the main care of the company has been the “hummers’ serial production, and also the earlier made trucks reconstruction.

The teeming activity of the company AM General, having become the American monopolist in the military vehicles sphere during the 80-ies, had always attracted the attention of corporate giants. On the 20th of September in 1983 the firm AM General was bought by the airspace company LTV, and after its bankruptcy since April 1992 AM General has been a member of the steel Renco Group. In the 90-ies the company AM General got the status of a corporation (AM General Corporation< AMG). The abbreviation AM now has an impersonal meaning; the word Automotive (automobile) is encoded in it, therefore the company’s full name can be interpreted in two ways – “Automotive Corporation of General Purpose Products” or “General Automobile Corporation”.

List of models:

Array ( [5] => Concept vehicles [3] => Military vehicles )

Concept vehicles

Military vehicles



Follow us

Database search




Unknown models:

Do you know? View all »

Recent Comments:

Ashok Leyland » Stallion MkIII / MkIV

24V 21 W and 12V 21W

Mercedes-Benz » L / LA / LK / LF / LS heavy range

Mercedes benz 2624

Chevrolet » Apache 3600 / 3800 '58

need info on a 58 , 3600 Apache, but mine has a factory tag stating a GVW of 6900 lbs. truck to my knowledge never has had a bed on it. original engine was a 6 cylinder , with a 4 speed , that's a compound low first gear .

Austin » K2 / K4 Loadstar

Hello. I have 2 truks for sale. 1 austin K2 loadstar (i think is military version) and 1 austin K5 4X4 8 ton; both is tow truck. contact me at Laiu_dorinel@yahoo.com